How to get divorce in New Mexico
Online Divorce provides qualitative and approved by New Mexico courts divorce papers. The information below may help to understand more about the divorce in New Mexico. onlinedivorce.com provides quick and inexpensive services of online divorce in New Mexico.
The key conditions to get a divorce in New Mexico are:
To be able to obtain a divorce in the state of New Mexico one of the main conditions is that the marriage is legal. This means that the marriage has a legal force in the eyes of the law, since it was concluded with the fulfillment of all the rules of the state.
Either spouse must meet the state's requirements for residency and the valid grounds for divorce must be pointed out.
If the spouses do not have children and common property, then the court usually grants a divorce sooner. But if there are common minor children or property in the marriage, the spouses still may file for uncontested divorce in New Mexico, if they resolve all questions regarding custody and the division of property independently. If the spouses cannot come to an agreement, then the divorce will be qualified as contested. And the court decides on all the disputes in the proceedings.
Fill out the forms. The necessary New Mexico divorce papers greatly vary depending on the circumstances of a certain divorce case. The process of preparing divorce form documents is an important and responsible step of the process.
When the New Mexico divorce papers are ready, they must be registered in the court chancery. After this, the copies should be delivered to the non-filing spouse, and then, the couple may wait a state-established period so that the court can grant a divorce.
In New Mexico, the residency requirements are the following:
- One of the spouses is a resident of the state and has a domicile within 6 months before the filing of the claim in court;
- One of the spouses has an honest intention to continue to stay in the state on an ongoing basis.
Persons who are residents of other states, but those in the service whose base is stationed in New Mexico for at least 6 months can also apply for divorce in New Mexico in the county where their military base or unit is located.
Persons who have lived in the state for at least 6 months before joining him or her in the military, and who are currently serving outside New Mexico and have an honest intention to return to residing in New Mexico after the service, still have the right to sue in New Mexico in the district of which they were residents.