How to get divorce in Kentucky
The information below will help understand more about the divorce in Kentucky.
The common steps of how to get divorce in Kentucky:
The marriage must have legal force. This means that the marriage ceremony was to be held in accordance with state law.
At least one of the spouses must be a resident of the state. The couple should not cohabit for 60 days until the moment when marriage is completely dissolved.
The couple must have grounds for divorce. The state of Kentucky allows the interested parties to file a petition on the basis of the no-fault reason, which is actually very convenient, since they do not have to prove the fault of the spouse in court.
If both spouses agree on the key points of the divorce (custody of children, the amount of financial assistance to the child and alimony, the separation of property), then they have the opportunity to apply for an uncontested divorce.
In order to start a divorce in Kentucky the interested parties need to fill out the divorce form documents.
After the Kentucky divorce documents are ready, they must be filed in court and the copies send to the spouse.
If interested person wants to get a divorce in Kentucky, then at least one of the spouses must be a resident of the state and reside in Kentucky at least 180 days before filing a petition in court. Also, both spouses should live separately for at least 60 days before the court grant a divorce.