How to get divorce in Minnesota
The information below will help understand more about the divorce in Minnesota.
The common steps of how to get divorce in Minnesota:
The spouse can get a divorce in Minnesota only if he or she were legally married.
At least one partner should be a legal resident of the USA and live in the Minnesota for at least 6 month.
The spouse must sign a divorce agreement. In this document the spouse need to state all the necessary aspects about the division of the property and children.
The spouse need to fill out and sign all the necessary Minnesota divorce documents.
Talking about residency we need to emphasise that in order to divorce in Minnesota the spouse need to have to be a resident of this state. Some people think that both of spouses need to be Minnesota residents, but this is not true.According to the law if one spouse is a resident of Minnesota and another is not, a couple may still file to the one of Minnesota courts. So at least one spouse need to live in the USA for at least 10 years and at least 6 months ( 180 days) in the Minnesota in order to file to local courts.