How to get divorce in Pennsylvania
The information below will help understand more about the divorce in Pennsylvania.
Learn about the common steps of how to get divorce in Pennsylvania:
The marriage must have legal force, in other words it is recognized by state law.
The procedure have to comply with the conditions of the state of residence, that is, be a resident of Pennsylvania for 6 months before filing a suit in court.
Explicit grounds for divorce. State law provides a choice of a list of different no-fault and fault grounds. If the Pennsylvania divorce papers indicate fault reasons, the evidence should be provided to the court of wrongful acts from the part of the spouse.
Choose the type of divorce. If both of the spouses want to dissolve the marriage and have no disputable issues or they have already been resolved, then the interested party can qualify for a quick type of divorce. If there are disagreements between parties and are applying for divorce on the basis of fault reasons, then the process of divorce can take more time.
When the divorce form documents are ready, they have to be fied in court and the copies of documents should send to the spouse. If the spouse applying for an uncontested divorce, then he or she do not need to send copies of the Pennsylvania divorce papers to other spouse.
If the interested person intend to get a divorce in Pennsylvania, then at least one of the spouses must live in the state for 6 months prior to filing an application to the court. The spouse must also file a petition in the county of which the couple are a residents.