How to get divorce in Ohio
The information below will help understand more about the divorce in Ohio.
The common steps of how to get divorce in Ohio:
In Ohio, there is a term ‘Dissolution of Marriage’, which refers to those divorces when both spouses want to terminate the marriage and have a common decision on how to share property, custody of children, the amount of child support and alimony, as well as the period of their payment. Similarly, the spouses agree with the no-fault ground as the reason for the divorce. In other words, this is an uncontested divorce. Term ‘Divorce’ is more often applied to those cases where the cause of marriage breakdown is the fault ground, and usually, this is the contested divorce in Ohio.
The marriage must be recognized by state law.
Depending on whether you want to get a divorce or dissolution, the spouses must reside in the state for a certain time before submitting Ohio divorce papers to the court.
Next, the divorce forms and documents must be filled out, and Online Divorce may help with selecting and preparing the correct forms customized to your case saving your time.
All the divorce paperwork should be submitted to the court, and the copies should be delivered to the non-filing spouse, notifying him/her that the divorce process is starting. After that, the court will appoint a hearing on your case. The waiting period before the hearing can be up to several months.
If the spouse wants to file a divorce in Ohio, then the plaintiff (the spouse filing the divorce form documents) must be a resident of the state for 6 months before filing a claim with the court. If the spouse wants to file a Dissolution, then at least one of the spouses must live in the state for at least 6 months prior to filing a petition in the court.