How to get divorce in Utah
The information below will help the interested person understand more about the divorce in Utah.
Divorce in Utah is known as ‘Dissolution of Marriage’, from the legal point of view, it is a civil action that is filed from the Petitioner (the spouse who files a Petition for a divorce) on the one hand and the Respondent on the other side.
The common steps of how to get dissolution of marriage in Utah:
Getting a divorce in Utah is possible only on the condition that the marriage is valid.
The interested person or his\her spouse must meet the state's requirements for living, in other words, be a resident of Utah and the county where the interested person want to file a claim. The interested person should also have grounds for getting a divorce. According to the law, the grounds can be either fault or no-fault.
Thee interested person can get an uncontested divorce, regardless of whether he or she ha minor children or not, the main condition is that the client and the spouse have an agreement on all disputes in the divorce case.
Fill out the divorce form documents prescribed by the state and file them in court.
File copies of the divorce documents with the spouse after they have been registered in court, this process is also know as ‘serving a spouse’.
After all the divorce form documents are transferred to court and the spouse is served, the law sets a waiting period of at least 90 days.
In order to divorce in Utah, one of the partners must be a resident of the state, and also live in the county where the petition will be filed, for at least 3 months.