How to get divorce in Maine
The information below will help the interested person understands more about the divorce in Maine.
The common steps of how to get divorce in Maine:
The marriage should be legal.
If the interested person want to file divorce form documents in the state of Maine, he or she must match at least one of them.
The interested person must identify the reason on the basis of which he or she seeks a divorce: no-fault or fault basis.
If there are underage children in the marriage, the interested person and his or her spouse must decide how custody should be divided. This also applies to the division of common property, the award of financial support to a minor child or alimony, as well as any other controversial issues that may arise during the divorce.
The next step and is the filling of the Maine divorce papers.
Once the interested person files a divorce suit, he or she need to notify his or her spouse about the beginning of the divorce in Maine, in other words, to serve a spouse. After that, according to the law, there is a waiting period of 60 days after which the court will begin proceedings for the divorce.
If the interested person decide that he or she want to get a divorce in Maine, then one of the following conditions for accommodation should be fulfilled:
- The spouse who submits the application (plaintiff) must reside on the territory of the state within 6 months before the filing of the claim in court;
- The spouse who submits the application is a resident of the state and the marriage was concluded in the state of Maine;
- The spouse who submits the application is a resident of the state and the grounds for divorce have occurred on the territory of the state;
- A spouse who does not file for divorce (defendant) is a resident of the state;